2016-2017 Skagit River Poetry Foundation Board Members

Molly McNulty, Executive Director

Molly Beth McNulty is a retired language arts teacher from Skagit County.  She joined the board in 2004 and became executive director in 2006. A visual artist, angler, and hunter, she has a great passion for poetry.

Terri Bakke-Schultz, Board President 2015-2016

Terri Bakke-Schultz is a retired educator (elementary, gifted). She has served on the board since 2007 and is the past Board President and continues to be the Poet in the Schools coordinator.

Steven Dolmatz~In-coming President, 2016

Steven Dolmatz is a retired English teacher from Squalicum High School in Bellingham. He joined the board in 1998, and has been on the Skagit River Poetry Festival’s music committee since 1999 and the poet selection committee since 2002.  Steve is the 2016 incoming Board President.

Eric Bowen, Board Treasurer

When he’s not swimming laps across the Skagit River, Eric can be found singing Welsh folk songs at the Mount Vernon Highland Games and Celtic Arts Festival.  He supports his hobbies by working as the accountant for Holland Health Services.

Heidi Herder, Board Secretary

Heidi Herder is an educator for the Burlington-Edison School District.  She has been teaching for about 20 years and has been on the board for five.  Heidi is the past and current 2016 Board Secretary.

Sherry Chavers

Sherry Chavers is a recent retiree from the Anacortes School District with a passion for promoting literacy skills through poetry with children of all ages. She has been on the board since 2013.

Gail Davern

Gail Davern is a poet and a professor of English at Skagit Valley College on Whidbey Island. She has been on the board since 2012 and is currently on a semester creative sabbatical in Wales.

Georgia Johnson

Georgia Johnson is a poet and culinary arts instructor who directs the La Conner School District Food Program. She has taught at the high school there for the last nine years. She has been with the board since 1999.

Bobbi Krebs-McMullen

Bobbi Krebs-McMullen is retired from public administration in Washington State. She is a life-long patron of the arts and has been on the board for ten years.  Bobbi was the Board President from 2012-2014 and  served as the fundraising committee head.  Bobbi retired as an active member of the board in June, 2016.

Robert Rose

Robert Rose is a poet and conservation consultant, and the former executive director of Skagitonians to Preserve Farmland. He joined the board in 2012, after serving as an advisor for The Skagit River Poetry Foundation on behalf of Riverstyx Foundation. He was the 2014-2015 Board President.

Linda Talman

Linda Talman is a retired educator (literacy and science), a volunteer organizer, and a Planning Commissioner. She has been on the board since 2013.  Linda retired from the board in June, 2016.

Kathy Willins

Kathy Willins is a gatherer of tales as a member of the Communal Studies Association and an advocate for the power of poetry as a board member of the Skagit River Poetry Foundation.   She is a community volunteer, appreciates good art, good food, and the company of good friends.  She has served on the board since 2000.

Erik Christensen

Erik Christensen is the head of the English Department at Oak Harbor High School, and an adjunct professor for Central Washington University.  In addition to songs and poetry, Erik writes the “Play That Song Again” music blog for Whidbey Life Magazine.

Anna Ferdinand

Anna Ferdinand teaches English and journalism at Sedro-Woolley High School where she is in her fourth year.  She has worked in Education since 2008 and has had the privilege of working in classrooms that have hosted poets through the Skagit River Poetry Foundation for most of those years.

She has two wonderful kids in high school who she loves to the moon and back and then some.

Prior to education Anna worked as a journalist, a baker, and an index proofreader.